What you need to know about the new Certified Ethical Hacker v12

Everything you need to know about the new certfied ethical hacker v12 featured image

Over time, technology changes, and so do training and certification pathways, including the CEHv12. The new learning program consists of training, labs, assessments, and mock tests to learn more about the techniques sufficient to fight against a series of competitors on a global scale.

The new learning framework uses a four-phase methodology that includes an in-depth learning experience, preparing individuals to become certified cybersecurity professionals. This learning framework includes the stages: learn, certify, engage and compete.

4-Phase Learning Framework

CEH v12's new 4-phase learning framework includes training, hands-on learning labs, assessments, practice tests, cyber competitions, and more. This new learning framework is a better version of what was offered before. Here are its details.

1. Learn

The CEH v12 program offers 20 modules that cover a wide variety of technologies, tactics and procedures that provide the foundational knowledge needed to master offensive security. The modules are divided with the aim of providing theoretical and practical knowledge. Whatever the tactic covered during the theoretical session, practical experience is delivered to the learners to clarify the concepts. This is done to acquaint aspirants with practical knowledge with provided virtualized environment.

2. Certify

Obtaining certification is another phase of the CEHv12 learning framework. Being certified is like a badge that makes you recognizable around the world. It is the most trusted certification, and it is used as a baseline measure of a person's ability to handle the concepts of ethical hacking and security testing. The CEH certification exam consists of 125 questions which must be taken in 4 hours. It is designed to measure the candidate's knowledge in the areas of ethical hacking. After completing the exam, a candidate must pass a practical exam consisting of 20 challenges to be completed in 6 hours. This allows an individual to obtain the title of CEH Master.

3. Engage

In the new CEHv12 learning framework, candidates will be required to follow a 4-phase engagement process that allows them to think critically and apply the knowledge and skills they have acquired during the course. The 4 phases are Vulnerability Assessment, Gaining Access, Mobile, IoT and OT Exploitation, and Perimeter and Web Application Exploitation. This phase will analyze a candidate's ability to perform the live application of skills in a controlled environment.

4. Compete

This is the newly added segment that includes some challenges that are known to offer capture the flag style competitions. These competitions will expose participants to working on a variety of modern technologies and platforms. The flags are designed around the ethical hacking process which helps keep CEH skills up to date, allows aspirants to access their critical thinking abilities, and covers the latest and most possible vulnerabilities.

Roles available with the CEHv12

CEH certification allows the individual to explore the following professional roles:

  • Mid-Level Information Security Auditor
  • Cybersecurity Auditor
  • Security Administrator
  • IT Security Administrator
  • Cyber defense analyst
  • Vulnerability Assessment Analyst
  • Information Security Analyst
  • Security Analyst
  • Security Administrator
  • Cybersecurity analyst
  • Network security engineer
  • SOC Security Analyst
  • Security analyst
  • Network engineer
  • Senior Security Consultant
  • Head of Information Security
  • Senior SOC Analyst

Is the CEH in demand?

Considering the growing impact of threats and hacker attacks, CEH professionals are in high demand. Contrary to this, the offer is even less which creates more career opportunities for the aspirants.

The CEHv12 is intended to teach aspirants the body of knowledge and skills through an entirely new learning process that prepares the individual to learn, engage, certify, and compete in the process. This makes an individual a valuable certified member of the cybersecurity community.